internship I

My first college summer has become my realization into the world that waits for me after college.

I’m not spending my summer going to the beach and the lake and getting tan, I’m working towards my future with an internship. I work 40 hours a week, sitting in my own little cubicle, dressed in business clothes, getting a true feel of the “big girl world.”

After the 2012 Christmas party, I emailed my now boss, Melissa, the Marketing Manager at Robins & Morton, to see if they had any job openings for the summer, since every other summer I made my money by nannying. A few months later she emailed me asking if I would want the marketing internship, and of course I would! Robins & Morton is such a great company and my dad has loved working there as an engineer, so I knew I would enjoy my summer working for the Construction and Engineering company.

Starting the day after I turned 19, on June 3rd I started work at Robins & Morton as a Marketing Intern. I have been working at Robins & Morton for over a month now and I can’t believe the summer has flown by so fast. In this time I have discovered PR is what I enjoy, and I have even found a new love of graphics after working on the R&M website with the help of my co-worker, who is skilled in Graphic Design and PR. This new love will hopefully lead to a Graphic Design minor at Auburn.

My work has consisted of:

Writing Press Releases

Writing Project Descriptions

Emailing around the company for information

Publishing articles to the Robins & Morton website through WordPress

Working with Infographics

Working with Photoshop to publish our Job-site Photography

Updating over 1,800 contacts

Training in Vocus, a Marketing Software

Building Resumes and Project Profiles in InDesign

Becoming the master of the company’s CRM, a website that holds all the company’s information about projects, contacts, resumes, you name it it’s there

Sales Forecasting for projects in the upcoming year

Many, many conference calls

Binding proposals for big multi million dollar hospital jobs

The list goes on and on

The amount of real life experience I am getting is unbelievable. That I am so young, about to be a Sophomore in college, and I have all of this practice under my belt makes me excited about what the future hold for me. The transition from the business world back to the college world will be interesting, no more waking up at 7 AM and falling asleep mid Netflix show at 9 PM, but I would not trade it for the world. I can’t wait to finish my last few weeks at Robins & Morton, once I go back to school I get to look forward to the Christmas Party the company has every year, where I can see my “R&M Family” and catch up with them.

sign off

Want to leave a reply?

