summer mix tape

summer mix tape

 

Here are my favorite songs right now, perfect for no matter what kind of mood you are in.

Windows Down | Throwback | Country | Bass Poppin’ | Chill

windows down

Windows Down

{Fun summer songs}

Pumpin Blood |  NONONO |

I first heard this song in the movie Endless Love, it is now in commercials. Just too great.

A Sky Full of Stars | Coldplay |

Coldplay is another all time favorite band, this is a new amazing song off their new album.

Birthday | Katy Perry |

Katy Perry has done it again, another fun beat to sing along to.

Take a Walk | Passion Pit |

This sing song-y beat makes it the perfect song to drive along to.

Wild and Young | American Bang |

This song became a hit after being featured in the Spring Break episode of Greek.

One More Night | Maroon 5 |

Adam Levine, need I say more?

Fancy | Iggy Azalea |

Iggy’s collaboration with Charli XCX makes for one great summer single.

Best Song Ever | One Direction |

I just had to include a song from my five favorite boys from across the pond.

The Walker | Fitz and the Tantrums |

I discovered Fitz and the Tantrums on Spotify this past year, then this song was the theme song for the Oscars with Ellen DeGeneres dancing along.

On Top of the World | Imagine Dragons |

This song has the perfect beat to drive along to, or dance with your friends.

 


throwback

Throwback

{If you’re feeling nostalgic}

A Thousand Miles | Vanessa Carlton |

From the song that made the movie White Chicks even more hilarious, this 2001 hit is a perfect throwback song. Just admit it, you know all the words.

I Don’t Want To Be | Gavin DeGraw |

Gavin is one of my favorites, and this song is the theme songs to one of my favorite shows, One Tree Hill.

Island in the Sun | Weezer |

The song that made you fall in love with Aquamarine and hunky lifeguard Raymond in the 2006 chick flick Aquamarine. This is the perfect throwback beach song.

Ocean Avenue | Yellowcard |

This early ’00s song was a favorite on multiple MTV shows.

Don’t Stop Believin’ | Journey |

This song is a classic “sing at the top of your lungs” song.  This ’81 classic is still a classic, and is even better live.

Drops of Jupiter | Train |

But tell me, did you sail across the sun?

Hot in Herre | Nelly |

Yes, the first time I heard this song in the Agent Cody Banks movie… but the beat still gets me today.

Unwritten | Natasha Bedingfield |

*Cue Lauren Conrad driving in her convertible BMW in the opening scene of The Hills*

Everybody (Backstreet’s Back) | Backstreet Boys |

I would not be a true ’90s kid if I didn’t include a Backstreet Boys song. And yes I did cry when I saw them last fall at 19-years-old.

Wannabe | Spice Girls |

I wanna, I wanna, I wanna really really really wanna zigazig ha.

 


country

Country

{Perfect beach or lake music}

Merry Go ‘Round | Kacey Musgraves |

Musgraves’ first single. This song was special enough to get the country princess her first GRAMMY nom.

Love Like Mine | Hayden Panettiere |

This song off the hit show Nashville is the perfect catchy song, even though it is about a breakup.

What Hurts The Most | Rascal Flatts |

This song has one of the best music videos I’ve ever seen, just grab a box of tissues before you watch it.

Cowboy Take Me Away | Dixie Chicks |

A perfect country sing along.

We Owned The Night | Lady Antebellum |

One of Lady A’s great hits, this one is my favorite.

I Want Crazy – Encore | Hunter Hayes |

Don’t we all wish Hunter would be crazy about us like that?

Would You Go With Me | Josh Turner |

I sure would go with him, that deep country voice is just perfect.

Springsteen | Eric Church |

“Funny how a melody sounds like a memory”

That’s My Kind Of Night | Luke Bryan |

Luke Bryan always has the best summer songs.

Texas Was You | Jason Aldean |

Love it because my home state is mentioned, “‘Bama was a spring break”


bass poppin'

Bass Poppin’

{Party or workout music}

Clarity | Zedd |

This song is one of my favorite “get pumped” song.

Wild For The Night | A$AP Rocky |

This song is a good mix of rap and house music.

Bad Girls | M.I.A. |

The beat in this song is perfect for a high tempo workout.

Talk Dirty | Jason Derulo |

Ya’ll know this song, it’s been all over the radio.

23 | Mike Will Made It |

If you listen closely, Miley Cyrus sounds a little like the old Hannah Montana when she says “I’m home.”

Yeah! | Usher |

Who doesn’t love Usher?!

Lip Gloss | Lil Mama |

Lil Mama in her prime, a perfect beat, even I can dance to it.

Turn Down for What | Lil Jon |

First Lil Mama now Lil Jon, this song has taken over the radio and is perfect for a party or working out.

Tipsy – Club Mix | J-Kwon|

Another great beat for a long distance run.

HeadBand | B.o.B. |

B.o.B. has come a long way since Airplanes, that’s for sure.


chill

Chill

{When you just need to relax}

Clarity | John Mayer |

My all time favorite John Mayer song.

Electric Feel | MGMT |

This song has a chill vibe along with a house type music.

Ants Marching | Dave Matthews Band |

DMB has so many amazing songs, but this one is my all time favorite.

Little Too Much | Natasha Bedingfield |

I fell in love with this song when it appeared on the Something Borrowed soundtrack.

Love Lost | The Temper Trap |

This is a great relaxing song, with a little bit of a rock hint.

Come on Eileen | Dexys Midnight Runners |

You can’t be sad listening to this song, I love its chill then upbeat tempo.

Something Beautiful | NEEDTOBREATHE

This alternative rock band based out of South Carolina delivers with this song.

The Funeral | Band of Horses |

This song may sound a little morbid, but it’s a great laid back song.

A Thousand Years | Christina Perri |

One of my friends used this song in her wedding, it made me appreciate the song even more.

Everything | Michael Bublé |

Michael is one of my favorite artists, and this song is beautiful because of the instruments used.


I hope you discover some new songs through these playlists, or fall back in love with some oldie but goodie songs!

sign off

Want to leave a reply?

