thanks ’14

thanks 14

It’s the last day of 2014, so now it’s time to reminisce on a great year and give thanks for the many blessings I was given this past year!

I’m thankful for family, friends, FLP, football, music and adventure.

Thankful for family

2014 was the year that had many different meanings of family.

022

I got to see my little sister go to her first prom.

117

I got to spend time with my precious Grandma at our family beach house.

087

I got to learn how to paddle board with dad for Father’s Day.

012 (3)

I even got to sit in the student section with my family.

034

I got to see my little sister tour and get accepted to Auburn University.

026 (3)

I got my own Auburn family. After being stuck in Los Angeles after the National Championship game in January, I traveled back home across the country with four random Auburn fans who ended up becoming my Auburn family.

036 (3)

I got an Alpha Chi family. We channeled our love for the funny Napoleon Dynamite movie for the Big/Little reveal.

Thankful for friends

2014 was the year for old friendships to grow stronger and new friendships to blossom.

234

 

We got to adventure around Jacksonville, FL for Spring Break.

011We got to dress up for spring formal at Turner Field in Atlanta.

026

I got to make a friend from The Office with my best friend.

038

I got to dress ’70s tacky prom with a funny friend.

052

I got to learn more about myself as a leader and a person with great friends at Leadershape.

095

I got to celebrate the 4th with fireworks and friends.

110

I got to make friends with a sassy 3-year-old boy who made my summer.

139

I got to sing along to the Friends theme song with my sweet sorority sisters during rush.

150

We got our unique names on a Coke can.

074 (3)

We got to dress up as Captain America/Wonder Woman/whatever and the Spice Girls for Halloween.

044 (3)

We got to get some sun at the beach on fall break.

019 (3)

We got to get dressed up for semi-formal.

Processed with VSCOcam with c2 preset

I got to welcome a sweet friend to society.

Thankful for FLP

2014 was the year of being a director of a Freshman Leadership Program, working with 45 freshmen and Soles4Souls, then being named Executive Director of Development, working with our nine different Freshman Leadership Programs.

008

I got to get to know 45 inspiring freshmen, who will make such a difference on Auburn’s campus.

025

We got to collect over 6,800 shoes to benefit Soles4Souls.

042

I got to lead our group with three amazing assistant directors.

036

I got to attend the Involvement Awards with the ’14-’15 FLP Executive team.

162

I even got to work the concourse with my doppelganger.

207

We got to attend dinner at the President’s Mansion.

261

I got to take part in my favorite Auburn tradition, Callouts, in front of a crowd of over 2,000 people.

266

We got to take a selfie in front of the 405 freshmen that got selected for our programs. What’s 2014 without a selfie?

126 (3)

We got to go to University of Georgia for Better Relations Day and got a tour of Sanford Stadium.

Thankful for football

2014 was the year of Auburn playing in the National Championship and one fun season.

059 (2)

I got to see my Auburn Tigers play at The Rose Bowl in Pasadena.

006 (3)

We got to tour Jordan-Hare and strike the Heisman pose on Pat Dye Field.

182

I got to meet Tim Tebow when he was in town for the SEC Network.

186

I got to shake my shaker for the tigers.

187

We got to cheer for our team.

084 (3)

We got to experience The Grove and Walk of Champions in Oxford.

092 (3)

We got to see Auburn beat Ole Miss.

IMG_4633

I got to see my best friend dance as a Tiger Eye.

Thankful for music

2014 was the year of concerts and an awesome music festival.

091

I got to see Saint Paul and the Broken Bones.

141

I got to see Green River Ordinance.

221

We got to see The Kooks, Young the Giant and Kings of Leon.

305

We got to go to Music Midtown in Atlanta and see Lorde, Run DMC, Fitz and The Tantrums, B.o.B., NEEDTOBREATHE, Aer…. AND

285

Iggy Azalea,

293

John Mayer,

299

I technically took a selfie with John Mayer.

309

twenty one pilots,

312

Lana Del Ray,

318

Bastille and

326

Eminem.

Thankful for adventure

2014 was the year I flew across the country by myself that lead to a year full of traveling excitement.

015 (4)

I got to meet Takeo Spikes on the way to LA for the game.

027 (4)

I got attacked by a parrot right off Ocean Avenue.

034 (3)

I got to ride the Santa Monica Pier Ferris Wheel.

068 (4)

I got to meet Josh Hopkins from Cougar Town.

089 (3)

I got to hold hands with George Clooney outside the TCL Chinese Theater.

108 (3)

I got to be a complete tourist and love every minute of it.

218

I got to spend the first half of my spring break in Tiger, GA doing service projects.

226

I got to spend the second half of spring break in Jacksonville, FL.

057

I got to appreciate the beauty of The Mill at Berry College.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

I got to ride a camel.

IMG_2466

I got to feed a giraffe.

191

I got to tube the Loachapoka River.

247

I got to white water raft in Columbus, GA.

132 (3)

I got to visit The Arch in Athens, GA.

•••

This year has been one for the books, I can’t wait to see what wonderful things 2015 has in store!

sign off

Want to leave a reply?

